BCCI 2012-2013 schedule for Indian domestic cricket

Ranji Trophy . It will start from 2 November 2012. There are 27 teams which are divided in three groups i.e, A, B and C with each group having nine players.

  • Group A: Rajasthan (Defending champions), Mumbai, Hyderabad, Madhya Pradesh, Saurashtra, Railways, Bengal, Punjab, Gujarat
  • Group B: Tamil Nadu (Runners up), Haryana, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh, Vidarbha, Delhi, Baroda, Odisha
  • Group C: Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Services, Tripura, Goa, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Assam

Ranji cricket match , a photo taken by Kiran Raja Bahadur SRK

The top three teams from group A and B together with top two teams from group C (total 8 teams) will play in the quarterfinals of the Ranji Trophy. The quarterfinals will be played for 5 days and will even be extended to 6 day if the first inning lead is not established. If the lead is still not established the winner be decided by a coin toss. These are the new changes that has been done to Ranji Trophy format by the recommendation of technical committee headed by Sourav Ganguly.The current format has been replaced with the earlier format of elite and plate division by BCCI working committee.

Irani Cup . It is a single match, 5 day tournament between Ranji trphy winner and the rest of India. It will be played between September 21-25 , in Jaipur.

NKP Salve Challenger Trophy. It will be played between Bengal (winners of Vijay Hazare trophy) and two other teams. It is limited over tournament and will be played just after the Irani Cup, i.e, in the last week of September 2012.

The rest limited-overs crickettournaments i.e, the Vijay Hazare Trophy, the Deodhar Trophy and finally, the Twenty20 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be played at the end of this season.


3 thoughts on “BCCI 2012-2013 schedule for Indian domestic cricket

  1. I also wanted to play in Indian domestic cricket team but I don’t know how to proceed in plz someone help me and give me details how can I do it I am 18 years old and viru is my favorite player

  2. I want to play any format of cricket ,any tournament plz i am a fast bowler allrounder
    right arm bowlerand right hand batsmen i love cricket and its my passion
    sir plz plz help me

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s