Indian cricket


The cricket is believed to be discovered in 16th century. However, Test cricket was first officially played at an international level in 1877. Since then, The Europeans had taken this game to the countries like India etc which they have visited and ruled during colonial period.

The first cricket match in India was played in 1721 between the sailors of East India Company and later in 1972 the first Indian cricket club i.e, Calcutta cricket club was set up. Till 1930, various ethnic groups like Parsees (1848, Oriental Cricket Club), Hindus (1866 Bombay Union), Muslims (1883, Muslim Cricket Club), Jews together with Christians (1937, The Rest) formed their own clubs and started playing together in Pentangular Tournament along with Europeans.

India got its test status in 1911 and after 20 years it had made its test debut at lords (1932). Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the central governing body of cricket of the country was formed in (1928).It further launched a national cricket tournament, Ranji Trophy (1934) between, the ‘Princely and the Princes states’ after the name of  KS Ranjitsinhji, the finest cricketer of that time. The Brabourne in Bombay is the first cricket stadium of the country established in 1936.

Indian cricket is broadly divided into domestic including IPL and international cricket tournaments.