There are various types of domestic competitions present in India which are organized at various levels like District, State, Zonal etc. The most of the domestic cricket tournaments are conducted under the supervision of BCCI .Indian domestic cricket involves various tournaments among which ‘Ranji Trophy’ ‘Duleep Trophy’ and ‘Irani Trophy’, are considered as the most prestigious ones. Almost all the tournaments of domestic circuit had been named after the legends of Indian cricket who has made huge mark and contributed phenomenally to the game.

Following are the names of the various cricket tournaments of the Indian domestic circuit.

Ranji Trophy

It is the oldest domestic tournament (1934) organised in India. It is named after the name of great Indian cricketer , Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji,  Jam Sahib of Nawanagar. It was the first of its kind of national tournament organised to bring out the best talents across the country. Now it has become the most domestic prestigious tournament of the country. Mostly the teams representing the different states participate in it. There are even few teams sponsored by corporate houses like Services and the government organisations like Railways too take part in this competition. It is divided into two groups i.e, elite and plate group and each group has a separate winner. The elite group are considered as the superior ones.

Duleep Trophy

It is also considered as one of the major domestic cricket tournaments of the country. It is named after the Indian cricketer, Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji, the nephew of KS Ranjitsinhji. It was started in 1961 by BCCI. It is played between five teams, each representing from five different zones i.e, north, south, east, west and central zones of India. Initially it was a knockout tournament but later on in 1993 it was changed into a league format

Irani Trophy

Irani Trophy although is a one match tournament but keeps a great importance in the domestic circuit. It is played between the preceding Ranji Trophy winner team and the rest of India XI. It was started in 1959 marking 25 years of Ranji Trophy championship in India. It is named after Z.R. Irani who was associated with the BCCI since its inception in 1928 till his death in 1970. He even served BCCI as honorary treasurer (1948 t 1962) and President (1966 to 1969).

Deodhar Trophy

It was started in 1973 after the name of Dinkar Balwant Deodhar, a premier first class batsman of Maharashtra. The five teams each from different zones participates in it. It follows a standard 50 over league format. It does not have any semi finals or finals. Ever team plays each other and earns certain points at the end of the match. The winner is decided by the highest number of points earned by a team at the end of the tournament.

NKP Salve Challenger Trophy

BCCI in 1994 started it a Challenger series but later in 1998 renamed it a NKP Salve Challenger Trophy. Mr. NKP Salve  was responsible for organising 1987 world cup in India. It features three teams i.e, India Senior , India A and India B which now a days known as India Blue, India Red and India Green.

BCCI Corporate Trophy

It involves 16 team named after the corporate companies which involves all the top cricketers and is played before the start of Ranji Trophy. It follows a standard 50 over format. The present team names are Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited, Chemplast, Indian Oil Corporation XI, Oil & Natural Gas Corporation, Comptroller and Auditor General, India Cements, State Bank of Mysore, Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited, Air India, Central Excise & Customs, All India Electricity Board, State Bank of Patiala, State Bank of Hyderabad, Tata Sports Club, Madras Rubber Factory, and Income Tax (India).

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

BCCI started it in 2008 to search and promote talents especially for 20-20 format across the country. It involves all the Ranji/state teams divided in 5 groups each showing 5 different zones. The team having highest points in each group plays against each other in semi final and final.

Vijay Hazare Trophy

It was started in 2002 after the name of prolific Indian batsman, Vijay Hazare. It follows a 50 over format and involves each state’s Ranji team. It is much similar like the Ford Ranger Cup of Australia and Friends Provident Trophy of England. It along side with Deodhar Trophy is the second oneday competition of the domestic circuit focussed on increasing the quality of limited over cricket.

We will keep providing all the main updates of the cricketing events happening in the Indian Domestic circuit.