Indian Premier League is a twenty 20 cricket league tournament organised in India and is supervised by BCCI. It was started on 18 April 2008. At present, it comprises nine teams which have players from India as well as abroad. It is considered as the highest paid league tournament after the NBA. Its brand value in 2011 i.e., in the fourth edition is estimated approximately around $ 3.67 billion.

Initially on 24 January 2008, eight franchises were sold through bidding and later two more franchises i.e, Pune and Kochi was sold. Right now, Tem Kochi is not functional in the IPL.  Following are the names of nine participating teams in IPL 2012.

Team                                                             City                          Owners

Mumbai Indians                                     Mumbai                 Mukesh Ambani (Owners of Reliance


Royal Challengers Bangalore                    Bangalore              Vijay Mallya (UB Group).

Hyderabad Deccan Chargers                   Hyderabad             T.Venkatram Reddy (Deccan Chronicle group).

Chennai Super Kings                              Chennai                 India Cements, Gurunath Meiyappan

                                                                                    (public face).

Delhi Daredevils                                     New Delhi              GMR Group.

Kings XI Punjab                                     Mohali                   Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, Dabur, Apeejay

                                                                                     Surendera   Group.

Kolkata Knight Riders                              Calcutta                Shahrukh Khan (Red Chillies Entertainment),

                                                                                     Juhi Chawla, Jay Mehta.

Rajasthan Royals                                   Jaipur                    Emerging Media (Lachlan Murdoch),

                                                                                     Shilpa Shetty, Raj Kundra.

Pune Warriors India                                Pune                     Subrato Roy Sahara.

The winners of last four IPL season are Rajasthan Royals (2008), Hyderabad Deccan Chargers (2009), Chennai Super Kings (2010), Chennai Super Kings (2011). IPL due to its high brand value and glamour has become a latest buzz in international cricket. It has surely opened new ways for the players which have retired from international cricket but still wants to play shorter version of game. It also provides great financial support and opportunity to the young budding cricketers from domestic circuit to showcase their talent. IPL has now also tremendously improved the relationship between the cricketers of rival countries because most of them play for the same franchises.

We will keep updating you with the latest buzz in the IPL through out the year.